Tags

, , ,

I recently had a get-together for friends belonging to multiple cultures and countries. While deciding the menu, I was conflicted on what to serve. Should I go Indian to give them a taste of my culture? Or should I go multi-national? Would they like some spice? Would they want something mild? It wasn’t easy. Then I got to thinking – we all love pizza, AND we all love Mexican food. So I thought why not combine the two for a “Mexican Pizza” for an appetizer? I came up with this recipe and it came out great! The ingredients can obviously be catered to individual needs and preferences. The beauty of this pizza is it tastes great every time – I used cherry tomatoes ‘coz that’s all I had at hand, and it came out wonderful!

IMG_6568


What you need:

Frozen or pre-baked pizza base
Black Olives, sliced
Jalapeños, chopped
Bell peppers, sliced
Tomatoes, chopped
Shredded Mexican cheese blend
Refried Beans
Salt
Pepper
Sour Cream


The Method:

Preheat the oven at 450 F.

Spread refried beans on the pizza base, and cover with shredded cheese.

Layer all of the vegetables on top. The ingredients are just a guideline – any favorite veggies can be used.

Sprinkle salt and pepper to taste.

Top with more shredded cheese.

Bake for about 10 minutes till the pizza is light and crispy.

Serve with sour cream.

Tip: This makes for a great party appetizer. Just cut in bite size pieces and serve with sour cream as a dip!

