Tags

, , , ,

Hi everybody! Fall is here in full force, and winter is already rearing its ugly, cold head here in Chicago. While it is a beautiful season, it brings with itself concerns like dryness on the face, feet and lips. I have discovered a new duo that has been helping keep my flaky lips somewhat smooth and moisturized.

IMG_0032

Fresh Sugar Lip Polish

This is a lip polish from everyone’s favorite brand, Fresh. It looks like a thick paste of brown sugar and smells amazing. I have such a strong urge to eat it every time I open the jar! It contains brown sugar, castor oil, meadowfoam seed oil, jojoba seed oil, grapeseed oil, and shea butter to exfoliate and nourish the lips. A little bit goes a long way – you only need a tiny bit of the product to exfoliate your lips, leave it on for a few minutes (resisting the urge to lick away!), and voila – beautiful soft lips!

Honestly, I think that this is one of those products that can be easily DIY’ed at home given you have the time. However, having it pre-packaged in a jar is always helpful in a hurry, without the need to whip up a tiny bit of scrub every time you need it.

One caveat though – even though the product is made without parabens, sulfates, phthalates, it does contain artificial fragrance. So that may be a concern for people with sensitive lips, or those who tend to stay away from fragrance. I personally do not have issues with it.

I had received a deluxe sample (0.28 oz), but will purchase the full size to keep handy once I run out of this one. The full size comes in a 0.6 oz tub and retails for USD 22.50.

Josie Maran Argan Lip Treatment

IMG_0039

Josie Maran’s Argan Lip Treatment is quite underrated, in my opinion. It comes in cute little plastic jar with a screw-on top. Inside, the product itself is a very light pink that just looks like solidified oil. It doesn’t really smell like anything to me – just has a slight smell of oil (provided I have no sense of smell). It contains argan oil and squalene that helps to rehydrate and seal the lips, and true to the Josie Maran like, does not have any of the “bad” stuff.

When you rub your finger on the product, it melts the oil that you can put on your lips in a thin layer. I usually put this on my lips before sleeping or after exfoliating my lips, and they feel great in the morning! Provided this product won’t do much else to the lips like plumping etc., it’s main claim is to keep lips hydrated and fill in fine lines, which it performs expertly.

My only peeve about this product is the jar packaging. While it looks super cute and princess-y on the vanity, I hate having to dip my fingers in little pots of lip balm. I wish they bring this in a tube or stick format – now that would be amazing to have!

The full size comes in a 0.24 oz pot and retails for USD 18.00.

