Tags

, , ,

Some people bite nails, some (i.e. your’s truly) apparently like to peel the dead skin from lips with their fingers or teeth..gross, I know!! When you have extremely dry and flaky lips and bad habits such as the one just described, you want to try whatever remedy you can lay your hands on to resolve the problem. In this quest, I had tried the regular Maybelline Baby Lips moisturizing lip balm in Peach Kiss after hearing all the rave reviews for the product. I was, however, quite disappointed! The balm did not do anything for my lips. It felt like a heavy, slick layer that just lay on top of the lips without getting absorbed or making them any better. The texture just felt completely wrong! Enter Baby Lips Dr. Rescue in the shade Berry Soft.

According to Maybelline: “No more basic lip balm.
Medicated care + 12 HR hydration.
Soothes quickly with a hint of eucalyptus.
Cools sore lips with a touch of icy menthol
In 6 new natural tints to even out lip tone for healthier-looking lips

Processed with Rookie

 

Packaging:

The Baby Lips balm comes in a roll-up lip balm container with a white cover that snaps shut. The packaging is simple and cute with the name written across the cover in a fun font. It looks young and super vibrant. The packaging also seems sturdy and travel friendly, which is always important to me.

Product:

Baby Lips is a tinted product and gives a colorful sheen to the lips. It does not replace lipstick but is good to have for no make-up days to get some color and moisture on the lips. The balm itself is quite hard but easy to glide on. I like that it is one of those products that will not melt in the heat, unlike the Fresh Sugar Lip Treatments which I love but they have that super soft and melty texture. I like that these are a little more sturdy, especially for the summer.

Also, even though the description mentions that it has “icy menthol”, I only feel a very slight hint of menthol on my lips. The color Berry Soft has a beautiful berry color that makes my lips look very pretty and naturally pink.

photo 1

Perfume:

When you open a tube of the Baby Lips Dr. Rescue balm, you really just smell menthol and not in a bad way. I don’t mind the smell of menthol and it also dissipates quite quickly.

Performance:

One thing that really confused me was the “Use” of this lip balm. It is made to sound very medicinal! I am not sure of its efficacy for fever blisters and cold sores, but I do know that I like the balm for use on a daily basis. It deposits a really thin layer on my lips (unlike the original Baby Lips) that absorbs quickly and feels moisturizing. My lips have been feeling so much better since I started using this balm. They’re less dry and flaky, so peeling them has been tougher (thankfully!). This is one balm I will keep going back to!

photo

 

