Tags

, , , , , ,

Out of the insane number of beauty products out there, I covet so many, it’s crazy!! So I’m constantly making La List – my wishlist of things I want absolutely need. One of the most talked about products that I wanted to try, in tune with my recent eye shadow addiction (more on which later!) was the NYX Eye Shadow base in Skin Tone.

According to NYX: “Maximize the intensity, longevity and unashamed brilliance of your eye shadow statements with our eye shadow primer pots. Each of the three NYX Eye Shadow Bases—for vibrant, pearl or neutral tones—creates a smooth canvas for color, increases its durability and prevents fallout.”

Size: 0.21 oz / 6 gms
Price: USD 7.00
The eye shadow base is available in 3 shades.

photo

photo (4)

Before I say anything else, I want to mention that I have super oily eyelids. The first couple of times I used the NYX base, my experience was something like this:

Try #1:

I open the pot and see a beautiful nude paste that does not seem too oily for my eyelids. I apply it all over and it goes on smooth and perfect-toned to cover the darkness on my eyelids. I apply eyeshadow on top which looks beautiful and vibrant – I can finally get my eyeshadow colors to show up instead of looking like a muddy mixture of powders! So far so good…

Hour 2: This is when the trouble starts. I walk into the restroom and look in the mirror to admire my handiwork. And ohh the horror! The eyeshadow has slipped from my lid and landed in a slick paste in my crease!! :((

Try #2:

I think that maybe I used too much of the product which magnified the creasing as well. This time I use a teensy bit of the base and dot it on my eyelids, and then apply eye shadow.

Hour 3: Okay maybe this time it stays for an extra hour, but creases pretty badly in hour 3. Still not the result I am looking for!

However, I did not give up after the above episode. After all, that’s what makeup warriors do, right?

Try #3:

I figure that maybe using the “base” as a “primer” was the mistake. So this time, I start with a primer (Benefit Stay Don’t Stray). I then apply a little bit of the NYX eye shadow base on top, let it set, and finally apply my eye shadow.

This time, the results are definitely better. I get a wear time of about 7-8 hours before the shadows start fading and creasing.

What I like: After having used the NYX eye shadow base a few times, I do like how vibrant it makes the eye shadows and truly makes the color pop. I am mediocre, at best, at applying eye shadows and my looks come out muddy half the time! I didn’t know what I was doing wrong till I used this base. I can actually see the colors now and it makes the eye “look” look decently good now. NYX definitely performs in that department!

photo (5)(L to R) In natural light – Eye shadow alone; With NYX Eye Shadow base; With Benefit Stay Don’t Stray Eye primer

What I don’t like: The biggest let-down of this base was that it creased like there was no tomorrow, when used by itself! I had really expected to get a multi-purpose product that could act as a primer and make the eye shadow colors super vibrant. Using it over a primer kind of defeats the purpose, you know? My experience with the NYX eye shadow base has made me quite sad since I had really looked forward to using and loving it.

Aside from the above, I am also not a fan of the packaging. Yes it comes in a pretty little pot, but I find this kind of packaging extremely cumbersome. Dipping into the pot gets so much product under my nails, especially when the level goes down, and it’s just so icky. I’m sure a this packaging was not created by a girl!

Overall, this is one of those products I had a lot of anticipation for, but that turned into one of my most regrettable purchases this month (though I will keep it and try to make it work since it was so inexpensive).

While this may work for people with dry skin or in the super cold months, I absolutely do not recommend the NYX eye shadow base to anyone with very oily eyelids. Please stay away!

