Tags

, , , ,

NYX is definitely one of my favorite drugstore brands. It is one of those extremely affordable brands that is great in quality as well. Since I had never really tried any of their blushes and since I wanted to try a drugstore cream blush (the others I’ve tried are the Stila Convertible Colors), I decided to give the one from NYX a try. I got their cream blush in Rose Petal.

According to NYX: “More delicious than peaches and cream? We like to think so. Our velvety smooth mineral Rouge Cream Blush offers a sheer wash of radiant color. The glorious payoff is dewy, sultry and long-lasting.”

Size: 0.12 oz / 3.5 gms
Price: USD 6.00
The blush is available in 9 shades.

What I like: The product comes in a round plastic compact with a transparent cover. It seems sturdy enough for a drugstore brand and doesn’t feel cheap. I do wish, however, that it came with a mirror for touch-ups.

photo (3)

The blush itself is a beautiful soft rose color that looks very beautiful and natural on my skin. I had always gravitated towards darker blush shades till I found this. It gives the perfect flush to my skin without looking like I have blush on! Being a cream blush, it also gives skin a dewy appearance and does not look dry. I apply it with a stippling brush (currently loving the one from ELF). This one has fast become my go-to everyday blush!

Here is a swatch – the right side has the blush blended. You see how it kind of matches the underlying redness of my skin?!

Fotor021320931

What I don’t like: I have oily/combination skin that behaves either oily or combination on its own whim. The oily parts of my face, i.e. forehead, nose, and the apples of the cheeks, are also super oily. So applying a cream product is not the best choice for it. My face gets quite shiny in almost about 6 hours with this on – like oozes oil! The staying power on my face is about 5-6 hours, which isn’t technically bad, but that means it certainly requires a touch-up when I spend 10-11 hours in the office.

Also, this particular shade – Rose Petal – being as beautiful as it is for lighter skin tones, may not show up on darker skin tones (I am in the medium skin tone category with a beige undertone).

photo

(The tiny dots in the above picture are because of my stipple brush!)

Overall, I think this is a great blush and this particular shade is simply gorgeous. It is definitely one of those gems that is a must-have for people with drier skin. All you ladies with oilier skin can use it on colder days if you like cream blushes, but pass on these in the hot summer months!

