Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve always been a huge proponent of natural beauty products, and am constantly on the lookout for brands that are environmentally conscious as well as use organic and natural ingredients. And even more attractive to me is the idea of making my own skin care products, right in the comfort of my own home!

I grew up with Ayurveda all around me. My father has been a big follower of the art, and would make us strange healing herbal concoctions whenever we had the flu and such. I myself got into it as a young teen when I discovered I could get rid of acne and improve my overall skin quality with natural ingredients from our kitchen (ohh and it worked!!).

After trying Eminence Organic’s Strawberry and Rhubarb dermafoliant (and since I’m obsessed with scrubs and masks these days), I decided to experiment with creating my own dry scrub that would be gentle to the skin and all-natural. Here is a recipe that I used to create an anti-aging and hydrating scrub (since it is winter and this polar vortex never seems to end!).

Anti-Aging Exfoliating Mask (good for all skin types):

  • Rice flour: Exfoliates and brightens the skin
  • Oats: Great natural exfoliant, especially good for oily skin and healing skin problems like acne. Is soothing and anti-aging as well
  • Almonds: Brightens skin and is anti-aging
  • Bentonite clay: Extracts impurities from the skin and controls oil
  • Neem: A wonder herb from the South-Asian region, helps to stave off all kinds of skin problems and purifies the skin
  • Chamomile: Soothes and heals skin irritation, and has anti-aging benefits
  • Calendula (or Marigold): Hydrates and heals the skin

Fotor012116409


What you need:

Organic rice flour – 3 oz
Organic oats – 2 oz {I use the steel-cut kind}
Ground almonds – 1 oz
Bentonite clay – 1 tbsp {I used the Indian Aztec Healing clay}
Neem powder – 1 tbsp
Chamomile – 1 tbsp
Calendula – 1 tbsp
Rosehip seed oil – 15 drops
Chamomile essential oil – 15 drops


The Method:

Finely grind all dry ingredients in a spice or coffee grinder. Make sure everything is ground very finely. I like to use a sieve to sift out the thicker particles and grind them again.

Once ground, mix all the dry ingredients together. 

Add the oils, a drop at a time, mixing well after each addition.

Store in a glass container in a cool dry place.

photo 2 (1)


To use:

This can be used as a scrub or a mask. Mix some of the product with your favorite liquid – milk, rose water, juice or plain old water – to make a paste. Apply on face and neck and leave for 10-15 minutes. Wash off while scrubbing for smooth and radiant skin!

photo 1 (3)

**Disclaimer: I am not a skin expert or an esthetician. This recipe worked for me. Please use caution and your best judgment if you are going to try any of these ingredients based on your personal skin type and allergies.

