Tags

, ,

Growing my hair longer is number one on my to-dos right now. I used to have lovely long luxurious locks, but after a very tumultuous 2011, I decided to get a new look which meant chopping all of it à la Alexa Chung at that time. Stepping out of the salon looking so stylish and fresh, I was elated. However, I regretted my decision right after the first wash *sob* *sob*. I am not one to spend hours on hair styling; I am a wash-and-go girl. And the hair looked terrible un-styled. I have since been trying to grow them back. But 10 inches was a LOT of hair!

Recently, my hair was in a terrible state also – it was breaking like there was no tomorrow, was rough and oily at the same time, and the scalp got flaky and itchy. Terrible, to say the least! I started taking a hair and nail supplement, and oiling it at times to help improve it a little bit (which I think it has somewhat).

As a little extra, I am now turning to nature to revitalize and make my hair naturally beautiful. I LOVE herbal remedies and Ayurveda, which is the ancient Indian science of herbal medicine, and so I researched and through a lot of experimenting, have found the things that work best for hair:

Diet 

A friend of my mother’s had amazingly gorgeous hair and I asked her what she did for her lovely locks. “Yeast”, came the answer. Yeast, you say?! Yes, so apparently brewer’s yeast is an excellent source of biotin, that is a nutrient that aids hair growth in the human body, as well as various other minerals and amino acids (aka proteins). Now I’m no doctor, but all those nutrients all sound EXCELLENT for the hair! Other than that, ofcourse a healthy wholesome diet will solve most of our problems.

Hair Masque / Deep conditioning treatment

I have been using Oscar Blandi’s Marine Mud Treatment, which works great, but is just so expensive! As an inexpensive and completely natural treatment, I found the recipe below works wonders for my hair. People always tell you to apply egg to your hair, which I’ve tried and hated since sitting around smelling like raw egg makes me want to throw up. Not to mention that the smell seems to linger long after I’ve rinsed my hair multiple times! What I loved most about this masque was that this has eggs and one doesn’t have to deal with the smell!

What you need:

½ ripe avocado

1 jar of full-fat Mayonnaise

The Method:

Mash the avocado and add double the quantity of mayonnaise. Blend well. You may also add a little lemon juice if you have dandruff. Apply throughout the hair and leave for 15-20 minutes. For better results, wrap with a hot towel or shower cap. Rinse well with warm water and give a final rinse with cold water for extra shine.

Have you been doing anything special for your hair?

Ta ta for now!

